#Blogging as a reflection of the phase you are in

mg_3290

{What we love most gets reflected in our movements. The more we practice what we love, the more graceful our dance is.}

 

When I created my first blog, it was for a very specific niche. I had a passion for mosaics and I wanted to write about that. I no longer write much on that blog except for a series of posts that I have prepared a long time ago regarding the etymology of the word mosaic.

Since my experience with blogging started on the “wrong” foot (which I don’t exactly believe and that’s why “wrong” is in inverted commas) , I thought it would be interesting to share it with others. Who knows. Someone might be going or has gone through the same phase.

Round about the same time I created that blog, I was starting out as a freelance translator and had absolutely no idea where translation would take me.

I also had no idea that translation blogs or sites existed.

Basically, I had only heard of the word “blog” and that’s it.

And so one day, I googled “blog” and Blogger cropped up and I created my first blog which at first was called Musing Over Mosaic.

Funny thing. Funny – as to make you laugh and wonder at the same time – is that my first post on that blog was called: “I’m not blessed with writing skills” which is still true but I’d like to think I will eventually get better at writing if I keep on writing and reading. I guess what I lack in talent, I compensate with self-knowledge!

But the main issue here is that my primary concern was mosaic art and not writing, even if writing was something I always did.

And this – perhaps and at some extent – explains why I started a writing blog only a few months ago (November 2013). Perhaps.

Which translates to blogging being a reflection of the phase you are in and of the things that matter most at the time you start blogging.

In 2010, I was really excited about mosaics which were somehow part of my life. I even managed to make mosaics on commission in Italy and Greece. That was big for me.

However.

As I evolved through translation work, I found myself more and more closer to words and more distant from art. Especially mosaic art.

The more you become acquainted with one thing, the less you require the presence of something else. You know it too. It applies to all things.

Mosaic was becoming something of a friend which I still loved but who was living in Australia and had no internet connection or land line was often breaking up when we talked. That’s a good metaphor to describe it.

Today it feels as if my identity as a blogger comes from tesserae I initially scattered into that first blog. Pieces that acquired a stronger colour and visibility because of translation and now through writing. This is how much I owe to translation!

And the more I wrote on {which translates to…}, the less I needed to write on the other blog.

If it’s true that your home is where your heart is, then you can also say this about a blog. If you are blogging only about bicycles then it’s because you need bicycles and it’s only bicycles on your mind.

Of course, you can have as many blog as you like but is the passion in your heart equally distributed into those blogs?

Are you perhaps experimenting through various blogs?

Is it time to just stick to one?

Who about having ONE blog which encompasses the different aspects of your personality?

A blog that has bicycles on Fridays and Chinese food on Tuesdays?

Think about it.

Now back to our topic.

Or did I cover it satisfactorily?

No, I haven’t. Because I forgot to give you a link to a post I wrote for Freelance Writing Dreams and it was about this. What to blog about if you have too much on your mind.

Maybe what I did was right. It was my way. But I wouldn’t do it again. I would start with a blog that was more generic. Still, would that many any sense? Who knows.

All I know is this: Today, my mosaic blog gets lots of visits even if I don’t post. And it’s through that blog that I learned how to blog and network with other bloggers. And for some of those bloggers, I can say I feel blessed to know them.

A presto.

Magda

***Did you go or are you going through something similar? What’s your approach?***

2 thoughts on “#Blogging as a reflection of the phase you are in

  1. Hi Magda,
    I really liked this post.

    You have been blogging a lot longer than I have, but in a small way I know what you are talking about. What I like about blogging is that – even though you are writing for an audience – you are still documenting your thought processes. If I look at my older posts I can easily see how much I have learned and changed while blogging. I find that hugely rewarding!

    I am not sure where I will go with my blog, but that is part of the fun, isn’t it?

    Best from Germany,
    Else

    Like

    • Hi Else,
      You are absolutely right about “documenting your thought processes” through blogging. When I first started blogging, I had no idea what a blog was and if there was an audience for my topics whereas you have the advantage of knowing. After about 3 years of blogging about art, I discovered that I created a niche blog which, even though many people loved, it wasn’t helping me evolve. I couldn’t “cope” with its limitations.
      I remember what you said in your interview: Don’t compare your beginning to someone’s middle phase. This also goes for blogging. The fact that you have seen a few blogs PRIOR to starting your own, if I am not mistaken, is something valuable. Besides that, you are objective, you share and you are not afraid to have your own opinion. Those things matter in blogging too.
      a presto! :)
      Magda

      Like

Leave a Reply

