lost in translation · projects · work · writing

(Officially) announcing my book “Tapping Into Translators’ Creativity: Connecting the dots between translation and creativity”

BOOK COVER MAY KINDLE
My book is available in paperback and for Kindle here

 

Only translators know what translators do, how translators feel, what happens “backstage” when we translate, run, juggle, keep up with deadlines.

That’s why it was near to impossible to sit down and properly announce that the book I was writing is finished. The blog has become the “last” to know what I am up to. But I had to take a break from it in order to finish writing my book. And in order to create my professional website. And to keep up with work. And to think of what’s next.

I can now share the news: I have completed my project. A book that took about two years to write. In December 2016, I published the first edition as an ebook only (there was a post about it but it wasn’t an actual announcement) and then I was so eager to update the book with new content, make improvements and add pictures (for which I needed to get permissions) that in May 2017, the second edition was out. In fact the first edition is no longer available. I wasn’t happy with it. It was my first time. My first date. Do you remember how your first date was? Exactly… I might actually share a few thoughts with you about the process of self-publishing in case you are thinking of writing and self-publishing a book a translation related topic. There are a few things you should do first and there are things you should never do.

My book encompasses some concepts that you might not expect from a book on translation. Not a predictable topic, you may say. Creativity. Isn’t that what artists do? Well, I don’t think so and deep down inside you know you are a creator too. You are a creator every time you craft an email to a client you really want to work with. You are an artist when you design your translation site. You are creative when you come up with a marketing strategy and different ways to promote your services. You are creative when you work on a translation so it resonates with what the author intended in the original.

Right now, I don’t know what’s next writing wise. Actually, I think I might need to be more open with you. I have (had) another manuscript in the making. This manuscript is old. Older than “Tapping Into Translators’ Creativity”. It’s got wrinkles and I feel as if I need to write about something else. Is there anybody else who has had a similar experience? What happens with old manuscripts that never made it into a book because you decided that you wanted to work on another book instead? Do you go back or do you go forward? Which translates to….. a semi writer’s block.

That’s my dilemma. I am open to suggestions.

M.

Leave a Reply

